The Friends of the Library Board is pleased to report that receipts for  the 14th Annual Victorian High Tea (invitation only) which included seat ticket sales (@$30) and the two drawings ($10 tickets and 6/$5 tickets) broke the all-time record this year.   JoAnn Van Reenan made a very significant deposit into the FOL checking account to be used to support the various programs we offer at the Prueter Library.  In addition, the number of guests was the highest ever (140 men and women) but because of the additional space created by removing several stacks on the library floor, we all enjoyed plenty of elbow room and easy access when we walked between our tables to get food or to check out the phenomenal creativity of our hostesses.


The one thing that sets the FOL Victorian High Tea apart from all others is the food—the quality, variety and generosity are unparalleled anywhere, and explains, in part, the popularity of our invitation-only event.  A special thanks has already been extended to our inspired chefs by the guests who either piled their tea plates high or partook of seconds and even thirds.  The two food tables actually groaned under the weight of all those delicious bites of baked goods, finger sandwiches, fruit, and candy.

Kudos and credit also goes out to our hard-working board members as well as our volunteer hostesses (Bette Alburtis, Amy Arroyo, Heather Behrens, Donna Breeze, Veronica Centeno, Carol Chapman, Marian Drabkin, Natalie Ferentz, Bonnie Goldstein, Jackie Griffin, Debbie Hernandez, Fran Hruska, Edna Ingram, Beverly Kelley, Marietta King, Miriam Kozlovskis, Colleen McCarthy, Bernadette McDowell  Carmen Nichols, Susan Nielson, Mary Neil, Cathy Penprase, Ellen Rosen, Robin Sills, Cathy Thomason, JoAnn Van Reenan, and Charity Winiarski) who made this event such a huge success.


Double Winner Amy Arroyo

Results of the Voters Choice for Best Table: Colleen McCarthy (Halloween Theme), Debbie Hernandez (Golden Elegance) and Amy Arroyo (Mad Hatters Tea Party).
Results of the Voters Choice for Best Hat: Amy Arroyo, Carol Porto and Christina Weiss.


~ by porthuenemefriends on October 20, 2015.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: